Translate

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Another post...

I've just noticed I haven't posted on my blog for a week or so...
After the 'fiasco' of the Autumn Equinox Open (because that's what it was, losing by 1 vote), just didn't have anything to write...losing to a guy with only 3 out of 4 elements + sloppy website management ('an hour or so' is not 25 minutes - one more minute and I would've won by 5 votes)
Anyway, NaNoWriMo is starting tomorrow and I'm ready. 50,000 words in one month. Perhaps I'll get my new book written...

Thursday, October 17, 2013

The FINAL!!! Need votes!

Yes, it's the FINAL!!!
I really need your votes and your friends votes and your relatives votes and your pets votes and your neighbours votes and your...I think ya get it :-) Please come and vote for 'Dani J Caile' - Miley Cyrus? on Iron Writer Autumn Equinox Open!
http://theironwriter.com/tournament/2013-autumn-equinox-finals/

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

More Great reviews! :-)

I got this review today from  'Motherskiss', thank you :-)

5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED EVERY CHARACTER IN THIS BOOK.... October 16, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Amazon Verified Purchase
...the immortal, the dead, the vain and even the ones dumb as bricks and snotty nosed! In his first book Caile has earned his place by Gaiman and Christopher Moore..Oh yeah and fellow Englishman who wrote "I, Lucifer" . Thank goodness I was lucky enough to catch all of his books while they were free. He now has one more follower!!!!

Wow....

...and I have some more FANTASTIC reviews from Christoph Fischer, a Top 1000 reviewer! Thank you, sir! He's hooked :-) AND he can write! His books are VERY GOOD! I'll write another post about that later...

Here's his review about 'Rage'...

5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired October 15, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
"The Rage of Atlantis" by Dani J Caile is the fourth book by this author that I am reading in direct succession. I got hooked on his absurd yet clever sense of humour after the first. Caile's work features fantasy creatures, biblical themes and of course in this excellent book the myth of Atlantis.
This is a thriller with heavenly intervention, a moral tale about greed and corruption, a magical fantasy story and a very funny read, all in one book.
Caile has a knack for presenting human nature with sharp observational humour but by bringing in absurd and hilarious elements he keeps his readers engaged and entertained. His characters are well put together, his choice of plot is truly inspired yet his themes are never far from reality.
A captivating book. 
 This one is on 'Beth. Fiasco'...

5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and very funny October 13, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
"The Bethlehem Fiasco" by Dani J. Caile is the third of his books I have read in short succession and is probably my favourite. Similar to The Life of Brian it is a satirical and humorous take on the Jesus Story but in a different way, particularly as it is less political and over the top but instead more benign, respectful and good humoured.
I felt that instead of being a satire on Jesus the book uses the Jesus story as means to joke about humans in general. Caile does a great job at introducing contemporary and modern elements into the story, such as the Egyptian 'Bistro', and portraying Heaven as yet another administrative nightmare. The three wise men have funny accents, Jesus has run out of cash and has to asks his father and so on. All of this serves to make us feel closer to the Jesus story than distancing us from it. To imagine Jesus as a 'performer' and his friends as regular pals adds value to my understanding of his story but thankfully there is no pro or anti message in it either.
The book is full of very funny and original ideas and is meant to entertain in a clever and intelligent way and that is certainly accomplished. Caile has clearly put a lot of deep thought into this. The comparison to Pythons stands only because so few have attempted the subject successfully.
A very rewarding and funny read.
 
 
 
 

Big 2 day promotion over :-(

It was quite successful, I'd say, my big '5 ebook' 2 day promo.
Almost 1000 downloads! (almost!)
I had some help from tweeters and this website...
http://indiebrits.blogspot.co.uk/2013/10/dani-j-caile-books-spotlight.html
A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL WHO DOWNLOADED OR HELPED TO SPREAD THE WORD :-)

I hope to get a few more reviews...

Here's the breakdown from Amazon....
Downloads (from)
Amazon.com - 88% / Amazon.co.uk - 8% / Amazon.de - 2% / Amazon.ca - 1% / Amazon.it - 1/2% ...and a few downloads from Amazon.in and Amazon.com.br (none from France, Spain, Japan, China)
Downloads (what)
Manna-X - 50%  / Man by a tree - 20% / Bethlehem Fiasco - 15% / Rage - 10% / Dani's Shorts 5%
Ranks
Manna-X - #727 in Amazon.com and #11 in Humor & Satire > General Humor
Man by a tree - #1619 in Amazon.com and #20  Humor & Satire > General Humor
Beth Fiasco - #2511 in Amazon.com
Rage - #4040 in Amazon.com (#3279 in co.uk)
Dani's Shorts- #5670 in Amazon.com and #60  Humor & Satire > General Humor

Monday, October 14, 2013

5 books FREE - 14th and 15th October

Yes, for 2 days, all my books are FREE...
Man by a tree, Beth Fiasco, Rage, Manna-X, even Dani's Shorts on Amazon (it's always free on Smashwords...as is TDX2)
So, please download what you don't already have, and TELL YOUR FRIENDS!
I'm looking to hit another 'life achievement'...
Thanks! :-)

http://www.amazon.com/Dani-J-Caile/e/B00CDX0HSM

Sunday, October 13, 2013

GREAT review of 'Manna-X'

Another GREAT review of Manna-X!!!
ALL MY BOOKS WILL BE FREE ON THE 14TH AND 15 OF OCTOBER (MONDAY+TUESDAY). BE SURE TO GET THE ONES YOU HAVEN'T GOT!!!!
http://www.amazon.com/Dani-J-Caile/e/B00CDX0HSM

5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, funny and a good story, October 12, 2013
This review is from: Manna-X (Kindle Edition)
"Manna-X" by Dani J. Caile is a greatly entertaining fantasy story set in the realms of both, heaven and earth. Bureaucracy governs heaven as much as it does on earth. God (Reginald), death (Graham) and the angels argue over supply issues and the request for Manna-X (which is by now several thousand years late).
Time travel, recovery of memory from a dead body and said Manna-X machine are just some parts of this highly original and well written piece, whose humour shows parallels to the great Pythons, Pratchett and Douglas Adams.
Hobgoblins, a Hungarian librarian and Satan are other figures in the colourful cast that on its own would guarantee an enjoyable reading experience. I smirked and laughed out loud at their sill or eccentric behaviours - after all, they (and we) behave all like monkeys in the eye of the author, and who could disprove him! Caile is brilliant at pointing out the absurd of the mundane and the mundane in his supernatural/ paranormal...
However,in this book the plot is particularly evolved and the 'hunt' for Manna-X and the narrative structure are cleverly set up and executed.
This is a great book for fans of absurd and comic fantasy but also for fans of satire and intelligent observational humour. Highly recommended.

Friday, October 11, 2013

New reviews of 'Man by a tree' FREE on 14th+15th October!

Thank you Christoph and Tallyrand! Two 5* reviews! This ebook will be free on Monday and Tuesday :-)

5.0 out of 5 stars Angels, death and hobgoblins October 9, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
"Man by a Tree" by Dani J. Caile is an entertaining and clever short novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams, Monthy Python and Terry Pratchett.
It playfully concerns God, Death, Satan and some angels in their daily routine of doing their job. Trying to see those mythical creatures as human or employees with job descriptions and a sense of humour worked remarkably well for me. Unlike other works in the religious parody/ fantasy spectrum Caile never turns disrespectful or offensive, his story is mostly pleasant and light hearted.
Making Death and God mere employers however serves as a reflection on modern life, the changes for better and for worse since the bible was written and when the concept of God and Satan entered our human consciousness. Would I like to live forever, I wondered, when everything established and comfortably known is replaced by new things? I very much liked Graham Reader (as the Grim Reaper is known in the book)and his fellow immortals.
If you cannot see the deeper and philosophical side to this story you can still enjoy it for the playful and original writing and plot. Very readable.


5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating and Entertaining September 30, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I have been a fan of this author since reading Manna-X and this book doesn't disappoint. It's one of Dani J Caile's early work but all the elements of the later works are here. Recommended for anyone looking for a bit of intellectual escapism.

Gizoogle.net

I might do this a lot more often :-)

Some playas is sick...

My fuckin playa Peter is dunkadelic fo' realz. And his chipmunk. Peter wants ta translate a funky-ass book n' git it up in Hungarian bookshops. I applaude his muthafuckin ass. I hope da ruffneck do dat shit. Well shiiiit, it would be wonderful! I sit up in anticipation.
I have thug playas. They is dunkadelic. They CAN write n' have hit dat shiznit hard n' gotz a gangbangin' following, one of dem now writes full-time biaaatch! They even give me encouragement n' say I should be hyped already :-)
I 'belong' ta Iron Writas n' they just pimped out son!
I have thug acquiantances...enough bout em...
I have readers. They're pimped out son! Some even give me props, n' most tell me how tha fuck much they enjoyed mah books, n' wanna read more.
Then I have...well, phat luck.
New book is comin along fine. It aint nuthin but healin sickly.

Monday, October 7, 2013

QR code

Found a QR code generator...well, just remembered to search for one, that's all.
Copy and paste this picture wherever you can :-) It leads to this blog...hopefully.
Still in the running for the Hemingway bracket...but by not much...
http://theironwriter.com/tournament/2013-autumn-open/hemingway-bracket/
Scan that :-) ...if you're ready...

Please vote!

Whoever is reading this, please go and vote for my story, 'Reynolds' Last Laugh' on Iron Writer.
I'm just in the lead, but I fear those votes are not enough, as there are still almost 4 days left...it's very important to win this time, as it's the Hemingway bracket!
http://theironwriter.com/tournament/2013-autumn-open/hemingway-bracket/

This morning I was in the mood to write out the plot for HTBACI7ES. So, be ready, it'll be coming out of my head soon. Perhaps for NaNoWriMo...

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Tricky times

In just under 2 weeks, all my books will be free! (Yes, including 'Man by a tree') For 2 days...October 14th and 15th - well, I've planned it.
And now is the time to vote :-) Yes, Iron Writer time...please get everyone you know to vote for the best story here...thank you :-)
http://theironwriter.com/tournament/2013-autumn-open/hemingway-bracket/